Mollie Courtney – animal biologist and international athlete!

The University of Gloucestershire is a great place to study biosciences, especially if you’re into sport. Here, one of our first year student writes about combining her sporting success with academic studies…

I have been involved in athletics since the age of 9, since when I’ve been competing for Cheltenham & County Harriers for Hurdles and High-jump. I also compete at international level, running for GB juniors for hurdles 5 times, and for England 5 times as well. This year I was fortunate enough to accompany the GB junior team to Bydgoszcz in Poland to compete in the Under 20 World Championships. I am currently ranked the 5th fastest U20 of all time in GB over 60m Hurdles and 100m Hurdles. Throughout athletics i have achieved over 10 international and national medals, including 2 consecutive national titles.

One of my main influences in choosing The University of Gloucestershire was to allow me to continue and further my athletic training. I’ve remained living at home and still train under my coach at the Prince of Wales Stadium in Cheltenham, near Francis Close Hall Campus, also as part of the uni athletics team. I also train at the University gym facilities and have full use of the Strength & Conditioning Suite at Oxstalls Campus to assist in my training.

I am also a Scholar Athlete at the University, meaning they have supported me in many ways in funding and use of facilities. The University also supports me as Talented Athlete Scholarship Scheme athlete, involving a medical scheme, funding and lifestyle assistance. My timetable in Biosciences has allowed me to create a flexible timetable to allow me to train and fit in work. The University’s campuses allow me to train, attend lectures and work on site every day, a great combination.

Mollie Courtney, BSc Animal Biology student

Leave a Reply

