Jasmine Stokes on the #UniGlos BioBlitz

Jasmine Stokes is a 2nd year Animal Biology student. For the last 6 months she has been working on leading the organization of the University of Gloucestershire’s first ‘BioBlitz’ event. This is her account of her work

jazz stokes

“As a second year Animal Biology student, I put myself forward for the role of Chairman to organise a Bioblitz. Initially the project started out as a small idea to engage the local community with science and our University. Once I was elected as Chairman, I quickly learnt how big this event could be, and how determined myself and my committee were to make it a fun, educational and inclusive event.

I took this project on alongside Rik Rolfe as part of my internship and can honestly say that I have learnt a great deal. I have brought together a team of volunteers to work at the event, collaborated with the Gloucestershire Wildlife trust, and overseen the creation of our website. My communication skills have improved, alongside my organisational skills (not to mention the learning the importance of checking my emails every day), as well as pacifying my passion for the outdoors. As this is my first large scale scientific event that I will have organised, the experience really is invaluable. I would recommend any student to get involved with future projects like this one, as you really do reap the benefits.

A Bioblitz is an event that aims to discover as many species of plants, animals and fungi as possible, within a set location, over a defined time period. It involves scientists, students, naturalists and other members of the public, all working together to create a snapshot of the variety of life in the area. The Bioblitz is taking place on the 5th and 6th of June at Park Campus, as part of the Cheltenham Science Festival, and the University’s Festivals Fortnight. We aim to run schools sessions as well as running surveys and events that the public can get involved in. Not only this, but there are a number of family fun activities, ranging from facepainting to craft making. We also have a photography Masterclass taking place, led by Amin Khan @AminArt.

To find out more and to book onto the sessions available at the BioBlitz please visit our website – http://uogbioblitz.wix.com/uog-bioblitz

Like our facebook page https://www.facebook.com/CheltBlitz?fref=ts and follow us on twitter @cheltblitz for updates!”

Jasmine Stokes, BSc Animal Biology student

Leave a Reply

